top of page

4 things I’ve learned in NYC

Updated: Oct 2, 2022

Here is a list of four important things I've learned in four years of living in the City.

Budgeting, Hustling, Networking, and Rest days (in no specific order).


1. The importance of a budget


I moved to NYC with about 1200 saved, thinking I was going to do much with it, smh, I learned QUICKLY that it was considered “change”. It lasted me about two months before I had to figure out where I was going to get more money to move in to a place, pay rent consistently, and well survive long enough to live. I moved in November booked a tv show and worked Kayne West’s Spring Fashion week show before I learned that acting and modeling jobs come here in there, until you “make it big”. SOOO I prayed and fasted for my next wave of finances and thats how I got into Production, the behind the scenes of creating what I wanted to be on the screen doing.


You can live in NYC without being a billionaire, but it’s all in how you budget. Going out? Who? Not me! Eating out? How? Taking Ubers? Well the train is $5.50 to and from. You truly learn the value of money and why a dollar slice becomes your best friend.


 

2. The reality of hustling


Man oh man! I thought I was a hustler back in Florida, but NY taught me a new level of hustling

  1. The price is twice as expense for living (space and travel). Thankfully I don’t have a car to pay all those extra expenses, but our unreliable transit alone has went up in the last 4 years alone.

2. Everyone is going after the same job, I learned what sets me apart from all of the other competition thats waiting for the same opportunity you are. Spend time with yourself and figure out what YOU bring to the table and the skills you have to offer.


3. There are many possible ways to make it to where you want to go in life, you just have to figure out which routes help lead you there without getting off track. I’ve learned to find jobs within my field that paid less then what I was used to just to pay for my responsibilities, talk about a humbling process.

 

3. The importance of networking


Everyone you meet is a possible new friend, client, or someone who will lead you to you next opportunity. Never doubt who people are or who they know.

I’ve met many people on sets or at events that led to my next gig. When you hear “it’s all about who you know” thats COMPLETELY true. Even if its only God that you know. Be genuine and don’t be closed minded.

 

4. Rest days


MY FAVORITE DAY TO SPEAK ABOUT!


Living in New York City boy oh boy, everything and everyone seems to ALWAYS be on the go. You have to learn and trust that you aren’t going to miss out on something if you take a complete rest day. Depending on bookings for the week, I usually have 2-3 days off and I take one day COMPLETELY off where I do whatever I want however I want. Sleep in late, wake up eat, then go back to sleep, or write blogs, which give me joy.


The other two days are like half rest days. I still get up by 6-7am check emails, workout, grocery shop, laundry etc. Even though that seems easy it still takes away from time with yourself. You’re basically spending your days off preparing for the days of work which isn’t a complete rest and regroup day. So as best as you can incorporate a complete rest day TRY IT and it’ll change your life and restore your mind, body, spirit, and soul

 

I thought I’d be in NY for one year, but God clearly had other plans. Four years later I feel like I just got here and don’t see me leaving anytime soon.

I hope this helps you on your journey to wherever you are or decide to go.


'Life With Lee'


“If you can make it here, you can make it anywhere!”
114 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page